20160816_125018

I hope you have a good hummus recipe you enjoy.   I have tried several, but still go back to my old store bought favorite…Sabra plain/original hummus.  Anyway, you are going to want some hummus to go with these, though they taste great without it, too.

PITA CHIPS

–Take a package of pita bread.  I buy Tofuyan Whole Wheat Pita Bread.  Cut each “loaf” of pita bread into wedges.  I use a pizza cutter for this.  Then separate the sides of each wedge into 2 triangles.  Lay these out on a cookie sheet.  I use my Pampered Chef bar pans, so your cooking time/temp might need to be adjusted for metal pans.

–Then I take some olive oil and sprinkle or brush it onto each pita chip.  Then I sprinkle some coarse salt like kosher or sea salt on each pita chip.

–Then pop the cookie sheets/bar pans into the preheated oven.  Cook at 400 for around 10 minutes give or take a few.  I like the pita chips to get golden in color.  If they get brown, they are too done for me.

 

I’ll be honest, I could eat the whole pan of these with or without hummus.  They are just what I need to satisfy that craving for salty and crunchy snacks.  Plus, they have to be better for you than potato chips, right?

I have frozen them with success, but honestly, we eat them up within a day or two of making them.  And to package them so that they won’t break takes up a lot of room in the freezer.

ENJOY!

